h1

TIFF 2012 lineup

August 27, 2012

Since this will be my first experience at TIFF, I have to say that I’m rather pleased with the films that I’ll be seeing. If I had prior knowledge of the festival schedule before its release, I would have chosen the second weekend instead of the first. Films that I’ll have missed out on include: To the Wonder, No, Passion, Post Tenebras Lux, Antiviral, and Mekong HotelDue to my scheduling of films being a little later in the ticketing window, I unfortunately missed out on Anna Karenina and The Master. Not a huge deal since I’ll be able to catch the latter a few weeks later and the former a few months down the road. Holy Motors, which is one of my most anticipated films of the year, won’t even be playing at the fest this year. Another bummer, but what can you do? Even still, I’ve walked away rather unscathed through the whole mind-boggling process of planning travel arrangements, guessing which films would play, and the ticketing process. So, without further adieu, listed below are the films I’ll be catching at TIFF this year. Return here for more musings on the festival, as I’ll likely be linking my reviews from here to Sound on Sight; and follow me on twitter for TIFF coverage during my stay in Toronto.

Thursday 9/6
Sans soleil (free screening) noon
Tabu 6:15 pm
Dredd 3D 11:59 pm

Friday 9/7
Rust and Bone noon
Paradise: Love 3:00 pm
Frances, Ha 9:30 pm

Saturday 9/8
The Place Beyond the Pines 11:00 am
Amour 6:00 pm
Something in the Air 9:00 pm

Sunday 9/9
Like Someone in Love 9:00 am
Spring Breakers 3:00 pm
Byzantium 9:00 pm

– Ty Landis

Leave a Reply

